ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ Dan's Blog

Major decision

Misconception

I've only recently started to seriously consider US university applications, and I hate myself for that. I always thought that I still had time, I still have 2 more years to get into university and stuff. Turns out, I couldn't have been more wrong. The whole thing unwrapped itself faster than I could have realized, and now I'm trapped. I am having race against time to make my "grand project". I need to start contributing to linux, creating websites and stuff. And I need to make them big. I need to really make them count. However, I am not sure I can...

Hard talk

I need to talk to my parents about that. I am feeling so much pressure from something I thought would have been a breeze. Main concern is university tuition, financial aid, and not getting into top universities. I am feeling overwhelmed, that's why I want to sort my feelings on each topic.

Top universities

It's not possible. I don't think Duke, Yale, Dartmouth will accept me. It is possible (I am not that bad, I have some achievements), but highly unlikely. This is something I will have to talk to my parents. I know they say that money is not concern, but they can only have this much money. I don't know for how many universities I will admit, but I know that I have to make a decision.

Do I gamble with top universities, potentially gambling millions of dollars for nothing, only to have a 10% chance on getting to really good universities, and to spend also this much on medium universities that I think I would be able to attend...

...Actually, now that I've written this, I don't think this is that hard of a decision. That's really good for my mind. It is more or less decided: I will gamble, BUT, I still need to consult my parents.

Financial Aid

This is something, that bothers me so fucking much. There is no way I would be able to study in US without some sort of FA, which sucks. For that reason, I am seriously considering applying to universities in Canada and in other Commonwealth countries.